New Music: Pure X – “Dry Ice”


Pure X (formerly Pure Ecstasy) is a lo-fi psych-rock outfit hailing from Austin, TX. Led by singer/guitarist Nate Grace, the band dishes out mellow, reverb-drenched psychedelia that recalls New Jersey’s Real Estate at times. Over the last two years, they have put out a score of EPs, cassettes and 7″s but have now announced the release of a full record. Below, you can hear a new song off the group’s debut LP Pleasure to be released via Acephale next month. Also, check out the previously released track “Twisted Mirror.”

Dry Ice

Twisted Mirror

TV on the Radio, Nels Cline Join Tinariwen on New Album


For those unfamiliar with the genre of music dubbed “Desert Blues,” look no further Malian Tuareg desert blues band Tinariwen. These African Toureg musicians are nomads of the Sahara desert who ride on horseback with Stratocasters and AK-47’s at their side. The band’s sound is driven by a distinct guitar style known as assouf among the Tuareg people, and in recent years this sound has garnered international attention.

On August 30, Tinariwen—a band at the forefront of this movement—will release its fifth studio album via Anti-Records. Recorded in a remote section of the South Eastern Algerian desert, Tassili is a return to the group’s acoustic guitar/un-amplified percussion roots. Nels Cline (Wilco), Tunde Adebimpe and Kyp Malone of TV on the Radio and the Dirty Dozen Brass Band horns also guest on select tracks. Tinariwen hits the road later this month on a tour that will take them through Europe and North America.

Check out the video “Tenere Taqqim Tossam” featuring Tunde Adebimpe and Kyp Malone of TV on the Radio.

Read on for Tinariwen’s full list of tour dates.  Continue reading

New Music: Superhuman Happiness – Needles & Pins 7″


For nearly a year now, I’ve been championing Superhuman Happinness as one of the most promising up and coming acts on the scene. Loaded with a plethora of musical talent and creativity, this Brooklyn-based band is a fearless improvising machine with the tightness of James Brown’s band on a good night. Some of you may have actually seen some of the members this past Halloween when frontman Stuart Bogie (Antibalas, Iron & Wine, TV on the Radio) and trumpet player Eric Biondo (Beyondo, The Monkeys) joined Phish for their cover of Little Feat’s Waiting for Columbus.

Last week, the good people at Royal Potato Family records released the band’s brand new 7″ containing the killer summer jam “Needles & Pins.” The song recalls Genesis and MGMT in parts and features what is easily one of the best guitar riffs of 2011 from Antibalas guitarist Luke O’Malley. Below, you can check out the brand new studio sounds of Superhuman Happiness—a band that never fails to live up to its name.

Needles & Pins

Video: Yellowbirds “Beneath the Reach of Light” @ Breakthru Radio

NYC’s Breakthru radio recently filmed a studio session with Sam Cohen and Josh Kaufman of Yellowbirds. In the intimate setting of the Serious Business studio, the duo spoke with radio host Travis Harrison before performing a stripped down version of “Beneath the Reach of Light.” This video sees Cohen move to acoustic with Kaufman commanding an array of noise vehicles behind him. Check out the video courtesy of Breakthru Radio below.