Dog Gone Blog March Guest Mix

Have a listen to our March Guest Mix curated by talented photographer/astral traveler Johanna Andersson. Download or stream it below.

Download Link

01. Fear Itself – Lazarus
02. Roky Erickson – Two Headed Dog
03. Jex Thoth – Nothing Left to Die
04. Blonde on Blonde – Spinning Wheel
05. Aphrodite’s Child – The Beast
06. Comus – Song to Comus
07. Atomic Rooster – Nobody Else
08. The Moody Blues – Legend of a Mind
09. Edgar Broughton Band – Hotel Room
10. Flower Travellin’ Band – Satori Pt. 2
11. Zager & Evans – In the Year 2525
12. Red Dirt – Brain Worker
13. Speed, Glue & Shinki – Don’t Say No
14. Wolf People – Silbury Sands
15. Nico – The Fairest of the Seasons

NEW MUSIC: Olden Yolk

Frequent readers of this blog will know that, over the past few months, we’ve been championing the band Quilt as one of our new favorite acts to emerge onto the East Coast psych scene. After delving further into their world, and through meetings and interviews the band, it has now come to our attention that some of the band members also have side-projects of their own. Today, we start with Olden Yolk–the solo project of Quilt singer/guitarist Shane Butler. As Shane tells us:

I have been writing and recording music on my own for as long as I have been playing tunes. I have always made releases under different names and played shows under various monikers: Olden Yolk is the most recent incarnation. Recording/playing solo is definitely a fun outlet cause it allows a totally different process of creation to take place. What I have been doing with Olden Yolk lately is starting songs with folk/acoustic/drone structures and looping and layering until it becomes super atmospheric drone-based folk.

Also, trying to make visual partners for all the jams (i.e. The film I put together for Violet Vagaries). There is really no concrete plan for it, I would love to build some sound installations soon that can place different elements of looping folk songs throughout a room so that you can be within the song more, having instruments surround you and stuff.

You can check out Olden Yolk’s only song ” Violet Vagaries” above.

Shane Butler

Woods ~ “Wind Was the Wine” & “From Oatmeal to Buttermilk”

Since their formation in 2005, Woods have continued to build on their unique brand of creepish campfire folk. What began as mostly as a bedroom project for lead singer Jeremy Earl to work on his songwriting has now evolved into a powerful force that helms much of the East Coast psych movement. And with each new release, Woods have, for lack of a better way of putting it, gotten better.

2009’s Songs of Shame brought the group out of Earl’s bedroom and into the light with stellar songwriting on songs like “Rain On” and extended jam cuts like “September with Pete.” Then in 2010 came the impressive At Echo Lake followed by last year’s Sun & Shade (featured on our list of top albums from 2011), which showcased Woods’ best collection of songs to date. That progression has now continued with the release of a new split LP with noisesmiths Amps for Christ, which comes out May 1 on vinyl and April 17 on CD via Shrimper. Two tracks from that collaborative LP have now been made available, and are streaming below. The first, “Wind Was the Wine” falls in line with the campfire creepishness side of the band, while “From Oatmeal to Buttermilk”—a collaborative track with Amps for Christ—showcases the group’s experimental side.

Mp3: “Wind Was the Wine” 

MP3: “From Oatmeal to Buttermilk”