Video: Psychic Ills ~ “Take Me With You”

Brooklyn space voyagers Psychic Ills team up with San Francisco’s similarly mind-expanding Moon Duo on a new 7-inch split, out now on Sacred Bone. The split is available as a Limited Edition pressing, and features two tracks, Moon Duo’s “Zoned” and Psychic Ills’ “Take Me With You.”

“Take Me With You” finds Psychic Ills locked into a deep repetitive choogle with a more straight ahead approach. Check out the video or audio stream below.

NEW MUSIC: The Karovas Milkshake ~ “Freak Out” // “Factory”

With all of the recent press surrounding Russian feminist punk-rock group Pussy Riot (and the subsequent cultish orgy photos), it seems like Russian music is on a major rise. Right? Well, maybe not. But listening to Mother-Russian psych band The Karovas Milkshake, one would certainly be justified in believing so.

Hailing from the Russian town of Ekaterinburg, The Karovas Milkshake take their name from the milk bar in the film Clockwork Orange, the Korova Milkbar. If that was all they had to offer, we would still like them. Even if the music sucked. But, thankfully, it doesn’t. Quite the contrary, rather. Their sound openly exposes its ties to vintage car-hold rock (some prefer garage rock), lifting elements from bands like The Kinks, The Velvet Underground, and The Sonics with little rebranding or refurbishment. Even the production sounds authentically 60s, and it seems the band members aren’t afraid of this. “It’s hard being an idealist nowadays. But we try…People back then believed in the future–and we believe in the past,” they told Russian press.

The Karovas Milkshake recently released a single, “Freak Out” b/w “Factory” via their own Kaleidoscope Eyes label. Check it out below and purchase it via their Bandcamp page for a mere $2.00. Also be sure to check out the previously released Lo-Cow Motion EP. Support the rise of Russian music.

Dog Gone Blog Presents: Superhuman Happiness // Wild Sick Horses // Atom and the Volumes

We are very proud to announce our very first event outside of the New York area! On September 7, Dog Gone Enterprises (the global wing of Dog Gone Blog) will be traveling to the Great North for the first-ever Canadian show with rising Brooklyn experimental act Superhuman Happiness. For those not familiar, Superhuman consists of a core segment of musicians from the illustrious Afro-Beat group Antibalas, along with a carefully selected group of top Brooklyn session musicians, under the spiritual and musical guidance of Antibalas/Iron & Wine sax player Stuart Bogie. It’s a groove-centric astral stew that is quickly becoming one of Brooklyn’s most talked about groups on the scene today. We’re very psyched to be presenting Superhuman in Canada for the very first time.

Taking place at the much-loved Toronto haunt Lee’s Palace, the show will also feature a brand new Brooklyn psych-rock act called Wild Sick Horses, featuring current and former members of Citay, Bizi Gara, Persephonee’s Bees, Ka and more. Lastly, the show will also feature rising Toronto indie act Atom and the Volumes, who have been storming the city for the past year with their gritty brand of garage rock. Liquid visual projections will be provided by Jason Steidman.

Should be a freak family affair. Come shake your shit and zone out. RSVP HERE. Pre-order tickets here.

Dog Gone Blog Presents: Minerva Lions // The Shoe-Ins // Slings & Arrows // The Dukes

Next Friday, August 24, Dog Gone Blog will celebrate the one year anniversary of our very first event with a special show taking place at The Church of the Electric Dirt in Brooklyn, NY. The evening will feature performances by a diverse lineup of acts including Minerva Lions, The Shoe-Ins (featuring Sam Cohen of The Yellowbirds on guitar), Slings & Arrows and The Dukes. It all kicks off at 730 PM for a mere $6. Come celebrate the end of summer with us and discover some of the best up and coming acts on the scene today. Listen to tracks and check out videos of the performers below. RSVP HERE.

Minerva Lions – “Megrims”

The Shoe-Ins – Live @ Big Snow


Sling & Arrows – “We Sail On Cowboy Clouds”

The Dukes – “White Lightnin”

Dog Gone Blog August Mix

Here’s a selection of tracks, both old and new, that have been receiving play around here as of late. Art by Johanna Andersson.

Download Link

01. Paul Kantner & Jefferson Starship – X M
02. Quicksilver Messenger Service – Cobra
03. Tame Impala – Elephant
04. Moon Duo – Sleepwalker
05. Woods – Size Meets The Sound
06. The Black Angels – She’s Not There
07. King Khan and The Shrines – Torture
08. Night Beats – Puppet On A String
09. Pond – Tears Of A Clown
10. Prince Rupert’s Drops – Pillar To Post
11. Lumerians – Track 1
12. Foxygen – Waitin’ 4 U
13. Principal Edwards Magic Theatre – Asmoto Celebration
14. The Lemon Fog – Lemon Fog
15. Ultimate Spinach – Mind Flowers
16. MMOSS – Woolgathering
17. The Resonars – Paint My Window Green
18. Shintaro Sakamoto – In A Phantom Mood
19. Tripsichord Music Box – The New World
20. Magic Castles – Ballad Of The Golden Bird
21. The Beatles – Only A Northern Song
22. Carlos Paredes – Dançãs Portuguesas
23. The Sufis – Sri Sai Flora
24. The Nightcrawlers – The Little Black Egg
25. The Paperhead – Pictures Of Her Demise
26. JUJU – G 4 A G
27. Slim Twig – Priscilla
28. JEFF the Brotherhood – Region Of Fire
29. Grateful Dead – Dire Wolf (Jahnrhundert Halle, Frankfurt, West Germany 4/26/72)

NEW MUSIC: Prince Rupert’s Drops

Our good friends over at Beyond Beyond is Beyond have started their own independent record label, Beyond Beyond is Beyond Records. The Brooklyn-based label kicks off with the debut 12″, titled Run Slow, from the similarly geographically located psychedelic garage rock outfit Prince Rupert’s Drops this fall. “Pillar to Post,” the album’s first single, is a—to take a line from the label’s founder—cage-free burner with guitar lines that belong on the Dazed and Confused Soundtrack and hauntingly/delightfully distorted vocals from second guitarist/vocalist Leslie Stein. It’s a number for the road.

SHOW NOTICE: Prince Rupert’s Drops will be debuting tracks from their upcoming LP at a very special NYC show on August 16 at Glasslands with Buffalo Killers and the Velcro Lewis Group. Poster/details below.

Celebrating Jerry Garcia’s 70th

It seems as though some people are placed on this earth to fulfill a specific purpose. Often, once that purpose has been fulfilled, the individual is taken from us, serving a nearly prophetic role on this planet. Jerry Garcia is one of those people, and on this day, he would have turned a ripe 70 years old. In celebration, we’ve created a playlist containing some of our all-time favorite Grateful Dead moments. Happy Birthday Jerry!

As Bob Weir said after scattering Jerry’s ashes into the Ganges River in India, “May you have peace, Jerry, and travel to the stars.”

1. Mountains of the Moon (2-22-69)
2. Nobody’s Jam (6-22-73)
3. Eyes of the World (9-7-73)
4. The Other One > (12-31-72)
5. Morning Dew (12-31-72)
6. Playin’ in the Band (3-24-73)
7. Estimated Prophet (12-27-77)
8. Dark Star (6-24-70)
9. Attics of My Life (6-24-70)
10. Dark Star (6-24-70)
11. The Wheel > Jam (10-3-76)
12. Jam > Ship of Fools (6-23-74)
13. Help On the Way > (6-14-76)
14. Slipknot! (6-14-76)
15. Franklin’s Tower (6-14-76)
16. Comes a Time (5-9-77)